X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • CMO
    • Mar 2012

Interested in a new account

Background:
    I am a designer, but I started offering my clients "managed hosting". What this means is they have a place to host their site that includes a certain amount of time for website edits (ie. plan 1 = hosting + 1 hour editing, etc). The clients' only access to their hosting is webmail. They do not get FTP or cPanel access as I handle all of that for them. I only host sites that I've built so I don't need to worry about rogue scripts, etc. I doubt I will ever have more than 20 client accounts at a time - I'm a one-man show and don't have enough hours in a week to guarantee support for much more than that.

My current hosting is a shared account (with another company) and I use cPanel's Addon Domain feature. I thought this would be ideal as I would have a single point of FTP access to all domains (instead of multiple FTP accounts), but it's starting to become a little messy. Not to mention that if I build and host a site for a client that needs its own IP I would be SOL.

FTP
    - With a reseller account, is it still possible to have a single FTP login that would give me access to all accounts under my reseller account (without having to use Addon Domain domains)?

IP Address
    - With the dedicated IP, can rDNS be set (ie. host.mydomain.com)?
    - Can a default domain be set? (If someone types in the IP instead of the domain name, can I decide which website shows up?)

I'm not worried about 'hiding' that I don't run my own servers or datacenter (that's silly). I don't even care about "white label" name servers or using my own name servers. I'm pretty open about how I host on my current site. However, a client recently asked why I did not have a "WoT Rating" - I had no idea what that was.