Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hacking attempt on contact form

Default Hacking attempt on contact form

Hello all. I have been using the same contact form script for a couple of years now. Up till now I don't think there has been any mischief attempted with it.
    It is written in php.
    Now I have received emails on two of my forms that indicate attempts at something, spamming I guess.
    A few days after the first attempt I got more from another of my domains. The email in the "bcc" line is the same in both cases.
    The emails are sent by my username on cpanel05 as usual but here is what they look like. I am editing them and replacing my domain name with "mydomain.com".

Quote:
    azmrku@mydomain.com
    Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary=\"===============1042879710==\"
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Subject: bdb1a4ed
    To: azmrku@mydomain.com
    bcc: jrubin3546@aol.com

This is a multi-part message in MIME format.

--===============1042879710==
    Content-Type: text/plain; charset=\"us-ascii\"
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

dsowv
    --===============1042879710==--

azmrku@mydomain.com
    azmrku@mydomain.com

are you sure these came from the form and it isn't just someone pretending to use your server to send mail. I get bounce backs frequently where someone spoofed one of my addresses.
    Dan Blomberg

Default This guy has phished lots of others

After I posted that I googled the email address on the bcc and he is doing this all over. One site I found tells what they are trying to do. The cgi scripts and the perl scripts are the most vulnerable if I am not mistaken. I hope my php script, which I got from someone a couple years ago, is not vulnerable.
    Thanks. Joe

I'd be happy to look over the script if you want to PM/email me the source

David

I wrote a script from scratch because it seems spammers troll for the common contact scripts you can download and use.