Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: Firefox 1.5

  1. #1
    Senior Member Buddha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    825

    Default Firefox 1.5

    Well I totally tanked the upgrade but it does seem to to have been worth it.
    FF 1.5 seem much faster.
    "Whatcha mean I shouldn't be rude to my clients?! If you want polite then there will be a substantial fee increase." - Buddha

  2. #2
    Senior Member -Oz-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    545

    Default

    i've been playing with it on my desktop but on my laptop I still have the old version. Some of my favorite extensions don't work; thats why I'm a bit annoyed.
    Dan Blomberg

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    530

    Default

    FF upgrades seem to be quirky. That, and if extensions (main feature of FF) doesn't work, why upgrade?

    Im still using 1.0.4

    Upgrading isnt always the best choice.
    Hosting at Dathorn since March 2003!

    My Interwebs speed on Charter Cable!

  4. #4
    Senior Member sdjl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    London, UK.
    Posts
    502

    Default

    I've been using the beta for a while and i quite like it.
    The betas been around for quite a while now so there's no excuse for extensions not to be compatible

    David
    -----
    Do you fear the obsolescence of the metanarrative apparatus of legitimation?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Buddha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    825

    Default

    I think I finally got all my extension re-installed. Wish I finished last night ... any site FF related seem a little slow today. Wonder why?
    "Whatcha mean I shouldn't be rude to my clients?! If you want polite then there will be a substantial fee increase." - Buddha

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    530

    Default

    If it aint broke....
    Hosting at Dathorn since March 2003!

    My Interwebs speed on Charter Cable!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Some extension may really be compatible without knowing. If the installer says the extension is only for the older version you can try and trick it:
    -download the .xpi file to disk
    -rename *.xpi into *.zip
    -open in Winzip or whatever you use
    -open install.rdf in text editor
    -look for 'maxVersion'
    -change the value to 1.6
    -save back to *.zip
    -rename back to *.xpi
    -try to install from disk (File->Open)

    Sometimes it just works this way

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    724

    Default

    Looks like the new version supports enlarging text in forums and on sites that use CSS for their markup ... that's very nice. Neither IE or the prior version of Firefox were able to enlarge text using CTRL-+ or CTRL-<scroll wheel> on all sites. So far, the new version of Firefox is able to do it on all sites I've tried it on.

  9. #9
    Junior Member nefadol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Heh, I'm still using version 0.8...I need to upgrade sometime. At least everything else on my computer is up to date. -_-'

  10. #10
    Senior Member -Oz-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    545

    Default

    i'm getting a really annoying memory leak with it that slows my computer to the point of it stopping functioning. Not everytime, but sometimes.
    Dan Blomberg

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •