Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cpanel Version 11 question, web disk, roundcube

  1. #1
    Senior Member KyleC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    291

    Default Cpanel Version 11 question, web disk, roundcube

    I have 2 questions about the cpanel upgrade. I figured I would post them here so everyone could benefit from the answers:

    1) will web disk ever be enabled?
    2) Will roundcube ever be back in the /webmail cpanel area?

  2. #2
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,639

    Default

    1. I would like to hope so but it depends on if/when the bugs are sorted out.

    2. Only if cPanel begins offering it as a built-in webmail client.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Nizhny Novgorod
    Posts
    315

    Default

    Andrew, is it possible to leave the RoundCube icon at /webmail and make it redirect to the new RoundCube location?

    I'm quite sure that would be fairly easy to implement (not sure if it will be easy to handle this during cPanel updates though, that's why I'm asking), but trust me, it would work out all the transition issues.

    I am currently on holidays and none of my clients are reading these forums (not techie enough). Thus I am afraid they are going to blackmail me when they will notice that RC's just disappeared ;-/

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,639

    Default

    No, part of the problem is that cPanel changes/replaces those files and the link will be removed as a result. The only other option for us is to "break" the updating of that particular page. Neither of which we want to do.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Nizhny Novgorod
    Posts
    315

    Default

    A post-upgrade auto-patcher (a bash/sed one-liner) wouldn't solve this problem? I really doubt they make major changes to this particular page that so often.

    Thank you anyway for the explanation and sorry for bugging you if this is definitively not possible.

  6. #6
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,639

    Default

    We could do that, but each time a file is changed it could potential cause the patcher not to worker and we would have to change that once again. The corresponding files in every theme would also have to be changed each time, RVSkin only complicates this without their no end of random bugs in their latest versions and continuous patches. It is no where near worth the trouble to do something like this.

    If you wish to use RoundCube then you will have to use the new URL. You can provide us with one of your own subdomains and we'll even link it to the installation. A simple e-mail to your customers informing them of the change is all that is necessary. Even we've had less than 5 tickets total submitted to us wondering where RoundCube was. Clearly not a big issue, most don't use it anyways.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •