Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How can I redirect a second domain to a single page?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    88

    Default How can I redirect a second domain to a single page?

    Question:
    How can I redirect a second domain to a single page?

    Example:

    Main website: domain.com
    Secondary domain: domain2.com

    What I want to do is to redirect domain2.com to domain.com/page.html

  2. #2
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,634

    Default

    You should be able to setup a redirect in cPanel to handle this for you.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    88

    Default

    After setting up a parked domain, I assume?

  4. #4
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,634

    Default

    If you're going to do that I wouldn't set it up as a parked domain. I would set it up as an addon domain or a separate account all together.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Thanks, I believe that clears it up.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I'm having the same issue- a customer created four domain names but I want them all to resolve to a single (top-level) site.

    Do I need to create 4 accounts, only one of them 'real', or is there another way. I used to have some DNS functions available on my whm panel, but they aren't there anymore.

  7. #7
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,634

    Default

    Just create an account for one and park the other 3 domains on top of it via cPanel.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
    Just create an account for one and park the other 3 domains on top of it via cPanel.
    You are FAST, Andrew! Yes, I was reading other threads and saw that. Curious why you didn't recommend that above?

    If you're going to do that I wouldn't set it up as a parked domain. I would set it up as an addon domain or a separate account all together.

  9. #9
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,634

    Default

    cathode wanted to actually redirect domain2.com to domain.com. Doing this would require a redirect.

    Per your question it didn't seem link you wanted a redirect, you just wanted the domains to display the same website. This is precisely what parked domains are for.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Actually, redirect 301 is better, for sake of SEO.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •