Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: 60 Mbps residential Internet

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    257

    Default 60 Mbps residential Internet

    http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/41256/103/

    I just read this. This would be cool to have. I just upgraded my cable to 10Mbps, and I'm loving it.

    Andrew are you signing up for this?
    Andy

  2. #2
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,634

    Default

    I saw that on Slashdot a couple days ago; might have to give it a whirl!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Russia, Nizhny Novgorod
    Posts
    315

    Default

    ZOMG, guys I hate you. I really do. I have an FTTB connection over here in Nizhny which can in theory go up to 10 Gbps, still until recently I was paying $35 for 150 Kbit/s bandwidth and unmetered traffic to my ISP.

    Now I'm paying the same amount of money for 600 Kbit/s of bandwidth but the traffic limit is 9.5 Gbs per mo. If the traffic limit is exceeded, the bandwidth is narrowed to 64 Kbit/s.

    Not to mention frequent local network outages and cable failures between Nizhny and Moscow (the central traffic exchange hub).

    Sounds crazy, doesn't it? Still, it's the best offer here in Nizhny. And mind you, in 2001 I was paying $35 for 64 Kbit/s / unmetered traffic. And everybody was freaking jealous calling me damned capitalist, he-he

  4. #4
    Administrator AndrewT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    3,634

    Default

    Wow ZYV, I just couldn't live like that I'll have to send a couple Mbps your way...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    724

    Default

    I was happy when I moved to 5 Mbps on cable for $45 a month; I'm waiting for FiOS to come down the street for their 10 Mbps service. I can throw a rock and hit the house they ended the line with down the street, but it could be a year or two before they get down to where I'm at (I'm actually on a different CO).

    Not sure what I'd do with 64 Mbps, other than run speed tests and gloat!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    530

    Talking

    I've currently got the 16Mbit (down) / 2 Mbit (up) Max service in South County (St. Louis, MO) and I love it! I've had it now since it came out.



    Thats about what I usually see speed wise. I can generally pull 1.87 MB/s down and shove 265KB/s back up. Works great for remote work. I'm hoping with the download speed increasing, they can push the upload up a bit more.

    The 60Mbit connection looks awesome, but only 5Mbit up? That's fairly slow for such a great downstream. If they had it at 10Mbit or (or like Fios's 20Mbit up) I'd get it in a heartbeat. (if its even available here).
    Last edited by ChrisTech; 02-03-2009 at 03:02 PM. Reason: spelling typos =)
    Hosting at Dathorn since March 2003!

    My Interwebs speed on Charter Cable!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Finally, after four years, I'm supposed to get DSL next week (I live near Stuttgart, Germany). I've been using ISDN (64/128k) since I moved here, and I get to pay by the minute (no flat rate for dialup). 6mbps max (and probably closer to 2).

    And to think that I moved here from the St. Louis area!

    --Tom
    Tom Brownsword, CISSP, GCIA, Security+, ITILv3
    Information Assurance Analyst
    Colorado Springs, CO
    http://TheBusinessProtector.com
    http://BusinessActionSteps.com

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    530

    Default

    Charter just changed their policies in the last few months. Depending on your speed Tier, you get xxx transfer. Under 15 Mbit you get 100 GB over that (the 20/2 Mbit tier) you get 250 GB. If you have the above 60 Mbit plan, you have no transfer limit.

    Granted the customer has no way to track their usage. If you use too much bandwidth you are suppossed to get a phone call, but I'm thinking they just set your modem to power cycle about every 45 minutes for the fun of it (I backed up a few websites, and downloaded a few other things the other day (roughly 65 GB), and got punished for about 24 hours of random disconnects even tho Charter claimed my modem had not been rebooted in like 45 days). Gotta love Charter.

    Can't wait for ATT Uverse to get here. Screw the speed, I just want stable.
    Hosting at Dathorn since March 2003!

    My Interwebs speed on Charter Cable!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I'm happy to report that my 64k days are behind me:



    Just wondering if anybody has gotten the 60 meg connection and tested it out?

    --Tom
    Tom Brownsword, CISSP, GCIA, Security+, ITILv3
    Information Assurance Analyst
    Colorado Springs, CO
    http://TheBusinessProtector.com
    http://BusinessActionSteps.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    530

    Default

    I wish I had the 60 Mbit, but it's not worth the price. And the upload is fairly low. Here's the 20/2 meg free upgrade they gave all the 16/2 meg users.

    Hosting at Dathorn since March 2003!

    My Interwebs speed on Charter Cable!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •