Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • deadamc
    • Jun 2004

Just a few more questions...

This is my first time using a host that supports multiple domains so it is a little different for me. I believe I have a pretty good grasp on how this all works, but I just have a few questions on some things I'm not to sure about.

1. Am I supposed to set the name servers for all the domains I have to
    dns73.gzo.com & dns74.gzo.com, or does it work differently since I have more
    than one domain?

2. I read a little about setting up your own customer name servers. What is
    the purpose of this?

3. Within my WHM account, I'm assuming that I create a New Account for each site that I have, but I have a few questions about the options...
    -What is the purpose or should I check mark the following boxes... IP, CGI
    Access, & Shell Access.

4. What are the "Packages", and do I need to add one?

5. Lastly, What is the purpose of the option to "Request IP address"

Thanks for helping me out here, it's much appreciated.

Adam Murray
  • james
    • Mar 2004

Hi deadamc,

1. Yes that's correct. You can do it using your personal nameservers too (see 2).

2. Personal nameservers are used so when people do a whois search on your domains, they say ns1.yourmaindomain.com instead of dns73.gzo.com. It must makes things a little more transparent. You'll have to go to your domain registrar (where you registered your main domain) and look for a register nameserver option.

3. IP gives the account a dedicated IP. You'll have to buy these for a couple of dollars (can't remember how much). You only need these if you wish to isntall a SSL certificate for https:// sites. CGI gives the account permission to run cgi scripts. I normally tick this box. Don't enable shell access unless you really need it. It allows you to SSH to your account.