Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: oscommerce error

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    257

    Default oscommerce error

    Hey guys

    I am getting the error

    Warning: I am able to write to the configuration file: /home/xxxxxx/public_html//includes/configure.php. This is a potential security risk - please set the right user permissions on this file.

    I am know there is a file you create to run, but I lost mind and can not see mto find it on oscommerce.org forums.

    Anyone have that file.
    thanks
    Andy

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, MB
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Ok, i found it

    <?php
    chmod('includes/configure.php', 0444);
    ?>
    Andy

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hi,

    FYI, another option is to use Cpanel to alter permissions.

    Eric

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    65

    Default

    I tried to make it with my ftp client and doesnt work, go to cpanel filemanager and doesnt work either! why is this happening?


    edit:

    well It accept 466

    hope that works

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default oscommerce configure.php permissions

    I've moved my site over to dathorn and had Andrew copy all the files over, but the permissions isn't correct? I've tried change it using cPanel and an ftp program, no change. I tried having cPanel install a fresh cart to see what would happen and it has the same problem. They both report:

    Warning Warning: I am able to write to the configuration file: /home/xxxxxx/public_html/store/includes/configure.php. This is a potential security risk - please set the right user permissions on this file.

    Any ideas anyone? 466 doesn't do it for me... Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

  6. #6
    Member timg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default Ummm...

    Andy made it work with 444, not 466....
    ~ Tim Gallant ~ http://www.pactumweb.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    183

    Default

    AFAIK, for some reason the only solution was to chmod the configure file using the above php script. It's something to do with the servers running PHPSuExec.

    James

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    32

    Default

    If you are really into supporting osCommerce then SSH is a must have. Using the chmod command at the command line will never fail.
    Last edited by w3it; 10-14-2005 at 05:17 AM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Buddha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida USA
    Posts
    825

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by w3it
    If you are really into supporting osCommerce then SSH is a must have. Using the chmod command at the command line will never fail.
    Yes, SSH does come in useful. Wish all my hosts offered it.
    Last edited by Buddha; 10-14-2005 at 06:37 AM.
    "Whatcha mean I shouldn't be rude to my clients?! If you want polite then there will be a substantial fee increase." - Buddha

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •